Laser cut business plates … er cards

May of 2011, I decided I wanted to experiment with laser cutting.  So I decided the best way to do that is to create a new impressive laser cut business card.  I found ponoko.com which is a website that allows a user to upload a design that they will then laser cut and send back to you.  Using Insckape, I created a business card with: name, title, email address, phone number, URL to my LinkedIn profile and a QR code that points to the same URL.  So I uploaded my design to Ponoko onto a black acrylic sheet.  Two weeks later I got the results (see below).

So close and yet so far.  (Laugh)  So, what went wrong?  Oh, let me count the ways…

  • Too large.  The Inkscape settings stated that I was going to get a 3.5 x 2 inches in size.  But they actually turned out to be 4.5 x 2.5 inches.  Always print out the designs on the printer to ensure they look acceptable.
  • Sharp corners.  There are Inkscape settings to add curves to the corners.  These turned out to be quite sharp.  Always round the edges of boxes as appropriate.
  • Spell it out.  I added my title “Senior Embedded SW Engineer”.  I should have spelled out “SW” == Software Engineer.  Its not like I didn’t have enough space.  Always spell it out, reduce confusion and add polish to the project.
  • Text alignment.  This is also a tricky one that you only realize once you stare at the card for a while.  The QR code doesn’t align with the title/URL.  The “J” in the left side name goes below the URL.  Always align the various elements.

So now what.  Good question.  This is probably the start of Project Vanity.  What are the rules of Project Vanity:

  • First rule of Project Vanity is that we can only talk about Project Vanity.
  • Second rule of Project Vanity is that we can ONLY talk about Project Vanity.
  • Third rule, You can’t stop talking about Project Vanity until such time that there is nothing else to say about Project Vanity.
  • Fourth rule, Project Vanity is all about creating new projects for Project Vanity.
  • Fifth rule, only one project per Project Vanity post.
  • Sixth rule, there is no sixth rule of Project Vanity.
  • Seventh rule, Project Vanity posts will go on as long as they have to.
  • Eight rule, if this is the first time you are seeing Project Vanity, you will have to see the other Project Vanity posts.

There will be other Project Vanity posts.

This entry was posted in Project Vanity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

